Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Life's A Trip

Took a little road trip to Tulsa this past weekend. Decided to take the Hardrock Hotel & Casino up on their offer of a free room. Because who doesn’t like free? This is the third time I’ve gotten a free room from them so I must really be rockin those penny slot machines! My hubby is jealous that I keep getting all the free stuff when I’ve only been three times (2 of those were free) and I don’t spend very much money when I go. I can’t help it if I’m just lucky like that…

I also think that’s exactly why I keep getting rooms – I don’t spend enough money and they want to suck me in. Let them keep trying - I’ll enjoy the free rooms and continue to play with pennies. Win for me!

No roadtrip is complete without junk food!

90% of my trip was spent like this, tending to the childrens
On our way we made a detour to Eufaula to meet a contractor. That’s something we haven’t had very good luck with – good, reliable contractors. I think they know it’s hard for people like us, who don’t live near the area, to really stay on top of their work and it’s easy for them to do shoddy work because no one is around to check it. And once the job’s done – well, good luck getting them to come out again to fix it.

So the guy we met was outrageously overpriced and I was a little bit irritated that we had to meet him in the first place. Just give us a quote over the phone, like everyone else. Which I’m sure it was a tactic to size us up and see what we’d be willing to pay – which was definitely not what he was asking. I don’t know what made him think we had the kind of money he wanted. Dude, we’re driving a plain little car, have two kids in daycare and shop at Ross – how much free money do you think we have?

Our property is lakefront but nothing is really lakefront – the Corp of Engineers owns all the land that actually meets the lake. So there’s a little distance between where our land sits and our boat dock. It’s sloped land too, so you can’t actually see the dock from our land – you have to walk down to it. Since we’ve had so much rain, the lake is really up so we decided to check on the dock.

I was walking behind my husband – this is a safety strategy I adopted shortly after buying the land, I always let him go first because he could tolerate a snake bite better than I could - when he laughs and says “Well, the docks still there.” And I laughed too because it was funny to think it wouldn’t be. But then two steps later he says “Our walkway is gone.”

What?! WHAT?! And I run up to look for myself – like I’m gonna see something he didn’t. And it was gone. There are only two options to what happened – it was stolen by someone that knew we didn’t frequent the land or use the dock or it was so poorly constructed that when the lake came up it was pushed, crumpled and pulled off the land and sank. It was poorly constructed. We’d actually gotten quotes to fix it. Which makes it even more painful because we know exactly how much it’s going to cost.

Something kinda important is missing...
It wasn’t exactly what we wanted to find, but what can you do? So we just let it go and rolled on. We took the girls down to the pool once we got there and I started a water gun fight, although I totally got blasted. There’s just something super fun about ganging up on Mom. Especially when she gives strict instructions to not hit her in the face. Silly me, I didn’t know that direction actually translated to “My face is your number one target, ignore every other area of my body and just go for the face.” And that’s got to be the best spot because then you get to watch her makeup run down her face. And who doesn’t love that?

Isn't that lovely?
The next day we visited the Oklahoma Aquarium. It was pretty good – we got to see a lot of fish and watched the sharks being fed.

Did someone say shark?!?
I have to admit though, it really didn’t compare to the Texas State Aquarium. Of course, if I had my pick between having the best Aquarium or having the best football team…let Texas have the Aquarium!

Friday, June 7, 2013

Slippin Away

Emergency trip to Walmart this morning because as I was getting out of the car I looked down and realized my dress way too sheer for me to wear without a slip. Not see through but it was pretty thin. And once I noticed I just felt naked and exposed. So I run in, grab a slip and immediately run to the restroom to put it on. Well, not immediately. I did pay for it first. I’ve got an amazingly long list of character flaws but thievery is not one of them.

It wasn’t until I was walking to my car that I realized it was too big. Just big enough to keep sliding down. I probably should have turned right around and switched it out but I already had it on and the tags were off and I didn’t want to be late. So I did the only practical thing – rolled that sucker up and kept on going.

So now, no one can see through my dress but there is noticeably odd lumping around my waist. It looks like I tried to stuff my bra but the tissue has fallen and gathered on my stomach. This is way attractive, because nothing says sexy like some nice stomach lumps, right?

No worries though, I’ll just have to take advantage of my lunch date and eat enough to fill this baby out. Of course, after that I may have lumps of a different kind…

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Table For One

I got stood up for dinner last night.

Maybe not technically stood up, but pretty close.

I did begin dinner alone. Not because I was actually alone, but because I don’t like eating cold food and I don’t like waiting on people who ignore me when I tell them dinner is ready.

That’s kind of a pet peeve of mine. If all you have to do is wait while someone cooks for you and then just show up when it’s ready – then the least you can do is show up. I don’t know why, it just burns me up to spend time cooking for someone only to discover they can’t pull themselves away from whatever they are doing to come eat it. Believe me, I would love to be vegging too, but instead I’m in here cooking for you. And after that, I get the honor of cleaning up too.

And really, I don’t mind doing those things. They have to be done and I’m happy to do it. But if you can’t extend me the courtesy of acting like you appreciate it enough to come to the table then it kinda starts to feel like servitude.

So I tell everyone dinner is ready. No one moves a muscle. I tell them again. Ignored. I say it one last time. Nothing.

And that was that. There is no use in nagging – besides making you look grouchy, it’s pretty ineffective. So I try hard not to do it.

Besides, if they wanted to wait and eat cold food and not join me for dinner, that was their choice.

So I sat down, said the prayer and started my dinner. That was my choice.

And actually, it was one of the nicest meals I’ve had in a while. It was quiet, I didn’t have to get up and get anything, and I didn’t have to spend the entire time trying to convince anyone to eat their vegetables.

I was close to a third way through when the rest of the family came in. The first thing M says is a shocked “Mommy, you’re eating without us!” to which I responded “Yes, I am.”

I think there would be more happy wives and mothers in the world if women would realize that you don’t have to give up the things you want or force others to want those things too. Just do your thing and be happy.

The others will make it to the table. Eventually.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

To Buy Or Not To Buy, That Is The Question

Father’s Day is quickly approaching and I’m in a dilema. My husband doesn’t care about Father’s Day or his birthday; those things are just not a big deal to him. And it’s really hard to make something special when the other person isn’t into it. It’s like a waste of creative effort. Not that I don’t try.

Plus he has everything he wants. Well, except really big and super expensive stuff, like the four wheeler he mentions every time I ask for gift ideas. Really? Can you throw me a bone? Like something I can get at WalMart?

So I have a gift idea, something I think he would like and wouldn’t expect. The problem is I’m not sure about buying it without discussing it with him first. It isn’t super expensive but it would be noticeable. If I tell him what I want to do, I am sure he would say no. Not because he wouldn’t like it, but because he’s “fiscally conservative” and we’re on a tight financial plan so we can build our house within two years. So I’m pretty sure it would get an immediate veto and goodbye awesome Father’s Day surprise.

If I don’t say anything, I run the risk of upsetting him and spoiling the entire present. But I’m not sure it would. It could go either way – he could be surprised and happy or surprised and displeased. It’s a toss up.

I’m leaning towards just doing it. Partly because I have a strong tendency to temporarily ignore consequences in order to do what I want but mainly because he is always planning surprises for me – big ones too. And I think it might be nice, just this once, to do that for him.

In the meantime, I’ll put my feelers out and see what kind of vibe I get. Who knows, he may just end up with another OU shirt…

Friday, May 31, 2013

Watchdog

Had a conversation yesterday about my sometimes uncanny 6th sense. Not sure if I even believe in all that, although I have had some strange experiences. I’m not convinced, however, that most of that isn't pure observation. It’s amazing what you know when you just watch. Like something that happened to me years ago.

I worked in a department store and each night after closing we were responsible for closing out and counting down our drawers. We put all the cash in a bank bag and then had to take it over to the store till and turn it in. I worked downstairs, my boyfriend worked upstairs and he would usually come by to get me and we would go together.

One night I closed up and he wasn’t there so I just grabbed my stuff and was headed to the till when I look up and see him coming down the escalator. I started to walk towards him when I noticed his body language. And the new really cute blonde he was talking to.

It probably sounds like I was jumping to conclusions. But I knew him – his mannerisms, gestures, all his little nuances. It was obvious that he was flirting. The fact that he had his chest puffed up like a peacock and his sleeves pulled up just a tiny bit to show off his pecs didn’t hurt either.

So I just watched. Then I decided what I would do.

I have a pretty fiery temper and a big mouth so you may have expected me to do something crazy – but I’m not really fond of embarrassing and/or trashy public scenes. And no, I didn’t forget about this incident. I said I’m not fond of them, not that I never caused one. And in my defense, that was my one and only and I still burn with embarrassment over it.

So instead of acting like a fool, I just waited until they got in line.  Then I sauntered right up to him like nothing was wrong, gave him a little peck on the check and said “Hey, we need to stop and get toilet paper before we go home.” And then I looked at her, smiled and introduced myself.

The look on his face was priceless.

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Vaykaysheruined

Warning: This post is really, really, really long and contains a lot of complaining so if you’re not in the mood to read a novel or don’t want to hear whining then return tomorrow and I’ll have something different waiting for you.

Also, with all the tragedies related to the recent tornado I am fully aware that I have nothing of significance to complain about. The losses from those events were terrible and weigh heavily on my heart. But I share my story in hopes that you might find some mild amusement in my misfortune.

So the good news about our vacation is that we did not drink bad water. Unfortunately, that was about the only highlight.

I rose insanely early Monday morning with expectations of a vacation full of fun and adventure. And lots of laziness, because I’m pretty fond of that too. We arrive at the airport and I discover that we were headed to Cozumel, Mexico. But that wasn’t the only surprise. Oh no, wait, there’s more!Because immediately after that discovery Delta informed us that we would not be receiving boarding passes and wouldn’t make that flight. Right away we asked to speak to a supervisor. No one was available and she wouldn’t be available until after our flight had already left. How convenient.

After much arguing, we were told that our only option was to fly out that night into Memphis, Tennessee then fly the next day to Atlanta, Georgia and then to Cozumel. What? Miss an entire day of vacation?! I don’t think so! We went into action – hubby got on the phone with the agency the trip was booked through and I called Delta customer service. The rep said that they could get us on American Airlines that was flying out in about an hour. The Delta rep standing in front of me said if they had seats available (they did) then to do it. We ran down to AA to get in line. The rep put me on hold. So I waited and waited. About 10 minutes later she comes back on, tells me she is trying to get it done and she’ll be back. Another 10 minutes of holding and she comes back, says “I’m still with you, don’t give up” and then we get disconnected. UGH!

I call the number back only to get another rep who knows nothing about it. He couldn’t look me up by name or case number or anything. I had to start the process all over again. Except this time he puts me on hold and when he comes back says his supervisor won't authorize it.  So I ask to speak to the supervisor who says she needs verification from the Delta people there. So I run back down to Delta. Hand the phone to the ticket agent who explains. Okay, they'll do it. With no time to spare, we’re good to go!

Only we’re not. Because then rep comes back on. Now the AA flight has filled up, there are no more seats. Seriously?

Back down to Delta we go. Begrudgingly, we accept that we’ll fly to Memphis. But we’ve got a hotel and all expenses paid waiting for us that we are missing out on. So husband talks to the rep and they agree to give us a hotel. He relays that info to the ticket agent. Do you need to speak with her, he ask. No, it’s fine. Do you need to get any info from her? Nope. So he gets off the phone and asks for the hotel voucher. They don’t print it here; we’ll have to get it in Memphis. But how will the people in Memphis know we are supposed to get a room? Well, the agent says, we can’t guarantee that. So can we get something in writing? No, she didn't make the commitment, so she can’t personally give us anything. We finally talk her into at least giving us a printout stating that we said the rep committed to a room.

Then, miraculously, the supervisor appears. Husband goes to speak with her. He’s super pissed and bitter about the entire experience. And it’s not even 7:00 yet. So he asks for meal vouchers – at that point he just wants to be compensated in some way for not being able to fly out that morning. She refuses and begins to argue with him – stupid stuff like telling us she was at the counter when we were trying to check in. Which, obviously she wasn’t unless they’ve finally invented that invisible cloak I’ve always wanted. Not to mention the fact that we specifically asked for her and they told us she was at a gate. Can someone explain that one to me?

So I’m getting us rerouted, not really listening to the conversation when I hear her scream “Did you just call me young and stupid?!” Immediately I freeze. I don’t know what has happened but I know it’s not good. Not good at all. Then my husband says “I’m done with you.” And the supervisor runs up to the ticket agent, pushes her out of the way and says “That’s it. You’re not going anywhere. I’m cancelling your tickets. You’re not flying on our airline.”

Oh my God. I am certain that my heart stopped beating for a full 60 seconds. So I step in to diffuse the situation – I calm her down, make the husband apologize and get our tickets back. Now, he was totally wrong – it was a very rude and disrespectful thing to say. But I can’t help but wonder what kind of training this chick has had…as a supervisor, I would think she would be trained in how to deal with people in highly emotional, stressful situations. Shouldn’t she have been the one diffusing the situation, instead of escalating it? And really? I mean, yes it was completely rude, but is that the worst thing that has ever been said to you? 

And then, as we walk away I look down at the stuff that she handed me and guess what? There are meal vouchers. For a grand total of $36. Thirty-six freakin bucks. Are you kidding? You couldn’t have just given us those in the first place? Was it really that big of a deal? $36 measly bucks could have pacified the situation and everyone would have walked away feeling better.

We killed the time before our flight with shopping and a movie. Not a bad afternoon but definitely not the beach.

We were in the security line when they cancelled our flight to Memphis due to weather. Totally understandable. Husband got out of line to go back to the main ticket counter to get us rerouted and I stayed in line in case I needed to do that with an agent at our gate. We weren’t sure which would be the most effective and we didn’t want to take any chances. I cleared security but no one at the gate. So I waited for husband, praying  he wasn't being led out by security. When enough time for me to get worried, I went back up front to check.

I see him from a distance and I can tell from his body language all was well. There was even a smile or two. So I go up, he tells me that we’re on a later flight to Atlanta and will get the same morning flight to Cozumel. I was kinda curious why they didn’t offer that to us that morning – why send us to Memphis at all? But I didn’t say anything, just kept my mouth shut. The agent says “let me print you a new baggage ticket…” and I walk off to leave the guys to finish business. They finish up but as he walks up I can tell he’s mad. So I run up asking what’s wrong. I’m totally expecting him to say that we couldn’t get that flight.

Instead, he tells me that as the guy was handing him our new boarding passes he says “Sir, can I ask you a favor?” So the husband agrees and the agent continues with “It shows here that you’ve been less than courteous to our agents and I need you to treat them more courteously in the future." and some other lecture type bs.  It totally floored him – first, he was completely courteous to this jack ass and second, that was 9 hours ago! Why, why would you try to ignite the situation by bringing it up again? What possible good can come from that? Especially when the current transaction has been nothing but pleasant.

But guess who had walked up and started typing on a computer right before that occurred? Weird coincidence, it was the supervisor from that morning. Strange, don’t you think? The husband responded with “That was this morning, it's over and I'm not going to talk about that.” and then got the hell away before he said something he would regret.

That flight was delayed. A few hours after the weather had clear we watched as all the other airlines send out planes while we waited. And waited. And waited. And heard everyone gripe about Delta. Not with the weather delay, that's something that can't be helped but it seemed everyone experienced rude agents, being bumped off flights or outrageous delays (not weather related).  One of the passengers, without knowing our story, told us that the ticket agent got angry with someone and threatened to not let her fly. Apparently, that's in their code book.

Then the agent came on and announced “In full disclosure, I would like to inform you that we are unable to locate our pilots at this time. We are unsure of their location. It may have something to do with the tornado. We don’t know that they were caught in the storm, but that maybe a possibility. As soon as we locate our pilots we will let you know.” And as she’s making this announcement another passenger gets up, walks 10 feet over, speaks with the pilot that is SITTING at the gate right next to ours and brings him back. What a mystery! The pilot was there the entire time! How did they not know that? I mean, I don't really understand the operations of an airline but what's your method for attempting to find your pilots because it doesn't seem to be too effective.

Lecture boy made a sudden appearance at our gate. He was the one scanning the boarding passes and as he handed us ours, he smiled, looked Benny right in the eye and said "Have a great trip Mr. Mitchell." Something about the way he said it struck me.

When we finally got into Atlanta is was past midnight. We got a hotel voucher and went to get our luggage. And guess what? The luggage never made it to Atlanta. Wasn’t schedule to go directly to Cozumel either. In fact, the tracker didn’t have it going anywhere. Well, isn’t that strange, it doesn’t show any activity past the Memphis flight. Oops, someone must have forgotten to change it in the system. No worries though, they’ll get it changed and we’ll get our bags in Cozumel.

I can't help but wonder to myself if someone "forgot" on purpose.  Maybe this is our reward from Delta - because we've done such a good job making friends.

It was past 1:00 a.m. when we made it to the hotel shuttle. When I called for pick up the hotel clerk told me they were full and not accepting airport vouchers. At this point it I was getting dangerously close to being awake for almost 24 hours. I was about to crack. We decided to go anyway - I didn’t care what I had to do, I was going to get a room. I was going to cry, yell or convulse into I was able to lay down in a bed.

We show up at the hotel and guess what? Not a peep from the clerk – he just checked us in and asked if anymore were coming because he had had a “really busy night”. He said it had been crazy and he was wanting it to slow down. Nice.

So we go to the room, open the door and find some guy spread out on the bad watching tv. Obviously, there was a problem. Back down we go. Another room key later and we finally make it to our room.

With a heavy heart and the bitterness of defeat, I throw my contacts away. That afternoon something happened – I was standing there talking and the next thing I know it felt like I was being stabbed in the eye and it wouldn’t stop watering. I kept taking them out and rinsing them off – it got better. And by better I mean instead of feeling like a steak knife it was more like a dull butter knife. But I refused to throw them away. No way.

Not only was it the only pair I had for vacation, it was the only pair I had period. No way was I throwing those babies away. Who cares about pain? Who cares that I my eye was swollen, red and occasionally leaking fluid? I was gonna save my contacts! So I told myself, and my husband who thought I was absolutely crazy, that I was going to make it to Atlanta. I could outlast the discomfort. Then, in the end, I had to throw them away anyway. I was crushed. It was such a small thing but I almost felt like crying as I flicked them into the trashcan.

Four hours later we’re up and headed to airport. I was resolved that it was a new day and everything would be fine! It was one day lost, who cares? We’re on our way to Mexico! I was still a little worried about the bag so I called first thing and was informed that it had been checked in at Atlanta and would be routed to Cozumel. Hooray! Everything is fine!


No contacts & very little sleep but on a plane so I'm a happy girl!
 

For some people the extra room from an exit seat is a waste...

Until it isn’t.

Like the minute we go to the baggage claim in Mexico and we don’t have bags. Delta was kind enough to give us a little kit with a toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, a brush, a razor and a tissue thin t-shirt. Why thank you Delta for your generosity. That makes it all better.

The first thing we did when we got to the resort was buy bathing suits. Besides the fact that they were way overpriced and I had four new bathing suits in my bag – this was especially annoying to me because it’s hard for me to find a suit that actually fits. See, I don’t exactly have what you would call perky boobs. In fact, whatever the opposite of perky is – that’s what my boobs are. Seriously, these babies must be suffering some major depression because I don’t remember them ever being perky. They are droopy and sad. Kinda a decent size, but who cares about size when they’re hanging to the floor?

So the main objective of my bathing suits is to hold them up and push them out. That’s about it. I don’t care about pattern, color or style – if a suit can lift my boobs off my stomach, I will buy it. And of course, none of the bathing suits there did that. So I spent twice as much money on a bathing suit that makes it look like I have the boobs of a 84 year old. Which I totally do, but I don’t want the entire world to look at me and be able to tell it.

We tried to enjoy ourselves anyway. And I have to say, it was beautiful. We had a beach front room so all I had to do was step outside and the ocean was right there. I really can’t get enough of that.

This is right outside our room <3>


Ignore the chubby legs, those belong to me


Our view during our meals


Or the free drinks. I found some banana drink that was awesome and I couldn’t get enough of that. Sooo good.

The magical banana drink.
This is how I looked the entire time :(

There is actually an entirely different novel that I could compose to share all the other trouble we had. I think the best summary would be to say that after nine days of calls and complaints – our bag finally arrived today. From Rome, Italy. No one knows what happened but the original tag was removed and a Rome tag was put on. Strange how that happened. Which just reinforces something I strongly believe - always play nice with people who can screw you over.

What was meant to be a special occasion was actually the worst trip we’ve ever taken - because it doesn’t matter how beautiful the place, having to wash your underwear in a sink will ruin the experience. So the entire vacation was spent rotating between our bathing suits and our travel clothes. Sans underwear.

So on the 10th anniversary of our marriage I look across at my husband during dinner, reminisce about our wedding day and try to ignore the fact that I’m not wearing anything underneath my leggings.

In retrospect, that part was actually perfectly fitting because there’s something that occurred on my wedding day that no one but my bridesmaids has ever known about. It’s related to my obsession with color coordinating my panties to my outfits, the fact that my special bridal panties were left at home by accident and my refusal to wear bright purple undies under my wedding gown.

Yes, ten years earlier I had walked down that aisle, took the hands of my groom, gave him a crazy look then leaned in really close and whispered in his ear “I’m about to get married and I'm not wearing any panties!”.

And that folks was how I began my marriage…

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Vaykaysheon

That's right - in a few short hours we'll be heading to the airport to begin our vaykaysheon! And yes, that's vacation - with a Kevin James inflection.

Super excited and especially impressed because I was actually packed yesterday. What?! I didn't stay up all night in the last minute Oh My Gosh packing scramble? Not this time. But put it down on your books because I'm not sure I'll ever have that done again.  It was a small miracle and no easy feat.

So I'm off for some fun in the sun and whatever else this trip brings!  I have some suspicions on where we're going - I think it's Jamaica.  That's where we went for our honeymoon and since it's our 10 year anniversary I can see the nostalgia.  Plus it was just an awesome place to vacation. But I really don't care - I'll be happy with anything, anywhere.  I just wanna have some fun.

I'll update next week to share some of the adventures. Which will NOT include drinking bad water and getting sick. Because you only need one vacation like that per lifetime...